Miriam Toews    


Winner of the: 2014 Rogers Writers’ Trust Prize for Fiction – “All My Puny Sorrows”; 2010 Engel/Findlay Award; 2008 Rogers Writers’ Trust Prize for Fiction –  “The Flying Troutman”; 2004 Governor General’s Literary Award, The Margaret Lawrence Award for Fiction and McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award – “A Complicated Kindness”.    



MIRIAM TOEWS - "I write to survive."Mark Raynes Roberts

MIRIAM TOEWS – “I write to survive.”






I L L U M I N A T I O N 

Portraits of Canadian Literature + Authors


World-renowned crystal artist, designer and photographer Mark Raynes Roberts’ extraordinary multi-media art project celebrates Canada’s treasury of authors and their literature through a crystal prism and a photographic lens. 


The 12-piece crystal art collection, ILLUMINATION – Portraits of Canadian Literature, was inspired by written passages about light by 12 of Canada’s leading authors including —


Margaret Atwood, Joseph Boyden, Leonard Cohen, Emma Donoghue, Lawrence Hill, Yann Martel, Anne Michaels, Rohinton Mistry, Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje, Miriam Toews, and Jane Urquhart. 



The ILLUMINATION crystal can be viewed at www.raynesillumination.com crystal.


JO LEE Magazine is proud to present an exclusive group of 16 authors from Mark Raynes Roberts’ ILLUMINATION – Portraits Of Canadian Authors, a celebration of 150 black and white portrait photographs of Canadian writers, shown in their home environments or places of inspiration, including quotes from each author on why they write. 


For further enjoyment:





Comments are closed.